New: Save your favorite arias, videos and singers!
Tell me more - Check it later - Not interested

Hai gia vinta la causa

Opera details:

Opera title:

Le Nozze di Figaro


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart




Le Nozze di Figaro Synopsis


Le Nozze di Figaro Libretto



Aria details:




Count Almaviva





Previous scene: E perche fosti meco stamattina
Next scene: Vedro mentr'io sospiro

Le nozze di Figaro | Ludovic Tezier "Hai già vinta la causa" (DVD/Blu-ray highlight)

Singer(s): Ludovic Tézier Luca Pisaroni Robert Lloyd

Filmed at the Paris Opera with a cast including the great Mozart figures of our time, Giorgio Strehler’s legendary production is now available for the first time on DVD and Blu-ray. Listen to the great French baritone Ludovic Tézier sing Almaviva's aria "Hai già vinta la causa... Vedrò mentr'io sospiro" !

Check out on Amazon : Learn more on website :
Subscribe to BelAir Classiques : Follow on Facebook : Follow on Twitter : Follow on Instagram :
Any reprise of the Strehler Nozze di Figaro has to be a major event. And in 2010, thirty-seven years after its première, the work met with a fresh triumph at the Opéra Bastille, featuring a new generation of performers: Ludovic Tézier (Count Almaviva), Barbara Frittoli (Countess Almaviva), Ekaterina Siurina (Susanna), Luca Pisaroni (Figaro) et Karine Deshayes (Cherubino).

As musical director Philippe Jordan reveals the Orchestra and Chorus of the Opéra National de Paris at the height of their powers.

And as a bonus: an interview with Humbert Camerlo, who worked for many years with Giorgio Strehler and was the stage director for this reprise.

Opera buffa in four acts composed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Libretto: Lorenzo Da Ponte after Le Mariage de Figaro by Pierre-Augustin Caron de Beaumarchais

Il Conte di Almaviva: Ludovic Tézier
La Contessa di Almaviva: Barbara Frittoli
Susanna: Ekaterina Siurina
Figaro: Luca Pisaroni
Cherubino: Karine Deshayes
Marcellina: Ann Murray
Bartolo: Robert Lloyd
Don Basilio: Robin Leggate
Don Curzio: Antoine Normand
Antonio: Christian Tréguier
Barbarina: Maria Virginia Savastano

Paris Opera Orchestra and Chorus
Conductor: Philippe Jordan

Stage direction and lighting design Giorgio Strehler

Filmed in High Definition : Opéra Bastille, 10 & 11/2010
Produced by Antoine Perset & François Duplat
Directed for video by Don Kent

Released on DVD and Blu-Ray by

Watch videos with other singers performing Hai gia vinta la causa:


Hai già vinta la causa! Cosa sento!
In qual laccio io cadea? Perfidi! Io voglio...
Di tal modo punirvi... A piacer mio
la sentenza sarà... Ma s'ei pagasse
la vecchia pretendente?
Pagarla! In qual maniera! E poi v'è Antonio,
che a un incognito Figaro ricusa
di dare una nipote in matrimonio.
Coltivando l'orgoglio
di questo mentecatto...
Tutto giova a un raggiro... il colpo è fatto.

Vedrò mentre io sospiro,
felice un servo mio!
E un ben ch'invan desio,
ei posseder dovrà?
Vedrò per man d'amore
unita a un vile oggetto
chi in me destò un affetto
che per me poi non ha?
Ah no, lasciarti in pace,
non vo' questo contento,
tu non nascesti, audace,
per dare a me tormento,
e forse ancor per ridere
di mia infelicità.
Già la speranza sola
delle vendette mie
quest'anima consola,
e giubilar mi fa.

English Libretto or Translation:

We've won our case! What do I hear!
I've fallen into a trap!
The traitors!
I'll punish them so! The sentence
Will be at my pleasure ... But supposing
He has paid off the claims of the old woman?
Paid her? How? ... and then there's Antonio
Who'll refuse to give his niece in marriage
To a Figaro, of whom nothing is known.
If I play on the pride
Of that half-wit ...
Everything favours my plan ...
The dice is cast.

Must I see a serf of mine made happy
While I am left to sigh,
And him possess a treasure
Which I desire in vain?
Must I see her,
Who has roused in me a passion
She does not feel for me,
United by the hand of rlove to a base stave?
Ah no, I will not give you
The satisfaction of this contentment!
You were not born, bold fellow,
To cause me torment
And indeed to laugh
At my discomfiture.
Now only the hope
Of taking vengeance
Eases my mind
And make me rejoice.

Sheetmusic in our database with this aria

G. Schirmer Opera Anthology: Arias for BaritoneG. Schirmer Opera Anthology: Diction Coach - Arias for BaritoneAnthology of Italian Opera: BaritoneMozart Arias: Baritone/BassMozart Opera Arias: Baritone/Bass

Contributors to this page